Patrol's 60th Birthday: 3 Provinces, 24 September 2011
- Russ Kellermann
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Russell Kellermann
- Nickname: Russell Kellermann
- Home Town: Cape Town now, grew up on the Wild Coast.
- Current 4x4: 2007 Patrol 4.2D Pickup
2005 Patrol 4.2TD Wagon - Home Language: English
Re: Patrol's 60th Birthday
Tell me where and when and i'm there.
I do believe though that although it would be great to have the other Nissan vehicles there, and i am of the opinion that they are welcome, that we remember what this is about, the Patrol/Safari/Mav, and that all images and visuals should depict this, particularly those that may go to a publication.
The public are easily confused (as is Nissan SA) , so for there to be hundreds of other Nissan vehicles there would be to dilute the marketing punch and attraction ,to the Patrol in particular, we seek to fulfil by such united standpoint.
I'm just saying bare this in mind.
I do believe though that although it would be great to have the other Nissan vehicles there, and i am of the opinion that they are welcome, that we remember what this is about, the Patrol/Safari/Mav, and that all images and visuals should depict this, particularly those that may go to a publication.
The public are easily confused (as is Nissan SA) , so for there to be hundreds of other Nissan vehicles there would be to dilute the marketing punch and attraction ,to the Patrol in particular, we seek to fulfil by such united standpoint.
I'm just saying bare this in mind.
'07 Patrol Pickup TD42 N/A,285's KM2,3" Lift,ONCA Bars,Warn High Mount,Alu Canopy, and some other Stuff.
- Peter Connan
- Full Name: Peter Connan
- Nickname: Piet
- Home Town: Kempton Park
- Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
- Home Language: Afrikaans
Thanks Russ for putting my thoughts into understandable words.
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
- Kagiso II
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Mac Mc Menamin
- Nickname: Oom Mac [Uncle Mac] [Uncle] [Oompie] Kagiso
- Home Town: BrentwoodPark, Benoni
- Current 4x4: 1982 Datsun Safari 2,8 aka LOBO; [1,300,000 Km verby !]
'99 PATROL 4,2 diesel.
2012 Jimny [SWAMBO se Kantoor-toe] - Home Language: AFRIKAANS
Oompie is thinking [again???? vlug manne vlug, hier kom groot brand, ruik al die rook]
O K - not funny - What I was thinking: Some one must take this and coordinate {Date; Places in Provinces all over RSA & sommer hook Botswana & Namibia as well}
Ideal would be the NISSAN 4x4 Club who could coordinate as they already have a foot in the door with NISSAN SA.
All the dealers must send that notice to all Patrol owners on their books.
All Patrol owners should have the "notice" on hand and wherever they go and see another Patrol, stick it in their door handle [not under the wiper, that gets thrown away without being read] (I'm sure we can come up with a standardised notice to fit on A5 paper, and each person can print their own - about 10 or 20 would do for a start]
Then - all the "Local Papers" [like REKORD in Pretoria] etc, make foto - send fotos to one central (The Coordinator) who will than make one moosa big great groot collage of all the gatherings - and NISSAN SA will carry the cost of that to be the centre spread of each & every newspaper & magazine in the land [and neighbouring countries]
[gou bring di ebrandblusser ... dit BRAND hoier by my ...]
O K - not funny - What I was thinking: Some one must take this and coordinate {Date; Places in Provinces all over RSA & sommer hook Botswana & Namibia as well}
Ideal would be the NISSAN 4x4 Club who could coordinate as they already have a foot in the door with NISSAN SA.
All the dealers must send that notice to all Patrol owners on their books.
All Patrol owners should have the "notice" on hand and wherever they go and see another Patrol, stick it in their door handle [not under the wiper, that gets thrown away without being read] (I'm sure we can come up with a standardised notice to fit on A5 paper, and each person can print their own - about 10 or 20 would do for a start]
Then - all the "Local Papers" [like REKORD in Pretoria] etc, make foto - send fotos to one central (The Coordinator) who will than make one moosa big great groot collage of all the gatherings - and NISSAN SA will carry the cost of that to be the centre spread of each & every newspaper & magazine in the land [and neighbouring countries]
[gou bring di ebrandblusser ... dit BRAND hoier by my ...]

Don't bring God down to your level of faith ... bring your faith up to His level!
-
- Full Name: Marais Ellis
- Nickname: Dikseun
- Home Town: Port Elizabeth
- Current 4x4: 1999 Nissan Patrol 4500 GRX
Gee my lank genoeg kennis en ek brink drie - miskien vier vanuit die Baai......Saltman wrote:G-man
I have to disagree with your 5 tally - the Cape Patrol fraternity has grown nicely over the past 2 years.
I am convinced we should be able to muster at least 10 - 20 Patrols somewhere around CT - maybe on Bloubergstrand with Table mountain in the backdrop?
Hands up from CT those that are willing to "pose" next to their Patrols ...
Saltman is in ...

-
- Full Name: nico pienaar
- Nickname: beast
- Home Town: Ruimsig Roodepoort
- Current 4x4: Patrol 4.8
Navara 4l
Safari 2.8 - Home Language: afr

- Peter Connan
- Full Name: Peter Connan
- Nickname: Piet
- Home Town: Kempton Park
- Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
Beast thanks for your efforts.
As I mentioned somewhere else, if Nissan would cover some of our expenses I would be exceedingly happy, but in my opinion what Nissan really need to do is to send some cars, and get the press involved.
If they would send at least one of every model of patrol currently on sale here in SA, being the 4.8 and 3l wagons, and at least two bakkies, one of which must have the "Safari pack" modifications, and then advertise the event in most of the newspapers in the larger centra. Perhaps they can also give each patrol owner who has his car serviced with them a personal invite?
Cheers
Peter
As I mentioned somewhere else, if Nissan would cover some of our expenses I would be exceedingly happy, but in my opinion what Nissan really need to do is to send some cars, and get the press involved.
If they would send at least one of every model of patrol currently on sale here in SA, being the 4.8 and 3l wagons, and at least two bakkies, one of which must have the "Safari pack" modifications, and then advertise the event in most of the newspapers in the larger centra. Perhaps they can also give each patrol owner who has his car serviced with them a personal invite?
Cheers
Peter
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
- Grant
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Francis
- Nickname: Grant
- Home Town: Rosendal
- Current 4x4: 2020 70 Series V8 LC
Hilux 2,4 4x4 SC Dakar - Home Language: English
Beast,
Please as Nissan where the Nissans are that were sponsered to the Voet Spore guys. We could add those patrols as well as invite the three of them to join us. I will be speaking to Lionel Lewis to see what LA Sport can do.
Regards
Please as Nissan where the Nissans are that were sponsered to the Voet Spore guys. We could add those patrols as well as invite the three of them to join us. I will be speaking to Lionel Lewis to see what LA Sport can do.
Regards
V8 Power
You can't expect to be old and wise
if you were never young and crazy
- Dolf
- Full Name: Dolf Engels
- Nickname: Dolf
- Home Town: Kathu. Nothern Cape
- Current 4x4: Nissan Pathfinder; 2015; 3.0 V9X
Nissan Patrol; 1996; 4.2 SGL (Sold)
Nissan X-Trail; 2015; 1.6 DCi LE Tec (Sold) - Home Language: Afrikaans
Hi Peter,
As die datum lank genoeg voor die tyd bekend is, ± 4 Weke, gaan ek my 100% gee om daar te wees vanuit die Noordkaap.
Groete.
Dolf
As die datum lank genoeg voor die tyd bekend is, ± 4 Weke, gaan ek my 100% gee om daar te wees vanuit die Noordkaap.
Groete.
Dolf
Dolf Engels
Kathu Noordkaap
Nissan Pathfinder; 2015; 3.0 V9X
Nissan X-Trail; 2015; 1.6 DCi LE Tec (Sold)
Kathu Noordkaap
Nissan Pathfinder; 2015; 3.0 V9X
Nissan X-Trail; 2015; 1.6 DCi LE Tec (Sold)
- Grant
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Francis
- Nickname: Grant
- Home Town: Rosendal
- Current 4x4: 2020 70 Series V8 LC
Hilux 2,4 4x4 SC Dakar - Home Language: English
Hi Gents,
Great news. I have spoken to Lionel Lewis from LA Sport and he is in. We just need to keep him in the loop to what we will be arranging. Even better news is I have just spoken to Fanie Smuts - Nissan Marketing Manager SUV'S. He is interested and I have already sent him a link to the Patrol forum. Lets see what we can get or arrange.

V8 Power