Broken Window and Lock - Thieves...... Please advise
- Russ Kellermann
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Russell Kellermann
- Nickname: Russell Kellermann
- Home Town: Cape Town now, grew up on the Wild Coast.
- Current 4x4: 2007 Patrol 4.2D Pickup
2005 Patrol 4.2TD Wagon - Home Language: English
Broken Window and Lock - Thieves...... Please advise
Hizit lads,
My truck was broken onto the other night. They tried to get in through the passenger side lock but only managed to damage it, so they broke the passenger side window.
The vehicle is with PG Glass , you reckon they'll be able to find me a window today or are stocks typically low much like other patrol parts. And on that note, how would i go about sorting out the lock ? I have R1000 lock and key cover on my insurance, but where do i take it ? Nissan ?
Advice would be great
Russ
My truck was broken onto the other night. They tried to get in through the passenger side lock but only managed to damage it, so they broke the passenger side window.
The vehicle is with PG Glass , you reckon they'll be able to find me a window today or are stocks typically low much like other patrol parts. And on that note, how would i go about sorting out the lock ? I have R1000 lock and key cover on my insurance, but where do i take it ? Nissan ?
Advice would be great
Russ
'07 Patrol Pickup TD42 N/A,285's KM2,3" Lift,ONCA Bars,Warn High Mount,Alu Canopy, and some other Stuff.
-
- Patrolman
- Full Name: JG Shields
- Nickname: JG
- Home Town: Pretoria
- Current 4x4: Toyota Land Cruiser 105 GX 4500 EFi
- Home Language: Afrikaans
Re: Broken Window and Lock - Thieves...... Please advise
Russ,
If the lock needs to be replaced, it will have to be done according to the VIN number, that is if you want all the locks and key to match again. If that is the case, Nissan oder the lock from Nissan Japan. I have no idea if a local locksmith will be able to re-manufacture a lock to match your existing key.
Patrol fan!
- Russ Kellermann
- Patrolman 1000+
Holy crap! that means it'll be a 21 working day wait, so about a month, thats IF they send the correct part of course.
Definitely want the key to match all round locks as per original.
I can see i'm in for trouble here.
The next person i catch stealing from me is gonna get his fuc@ing hands cut off. Over R600 000 stolen from me now in 5 years, i'm gatvol. The next guy is gonna feel the wrath of every cent taken and spent.
Definitely want the key to match all round locks as per original.
I can see i'm in for trouble here.
The next person i catch stealing from me is gonna get his fuc@ing hands cut off. Over R600 000 stolen from me now in 5 years, i'm gatvol. The next guy is gonna feel the wrath of every cent taken and spent.
'07 Patrol Pickup TD42 N/A,285's KM2,3" Lift,ONCA Bars,Warn High Mount,Alu Canopy, and some other Stuff.
- Peter Connan
- Full Name: Peter Connan
- Nickname: Piet
- Home Town: Kempton Park
- Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
Eish Russ
You could almost have bought a house by now?
Just an idea, that guy that is breaking for spares, would he not perhaps be able to help with a window and temporarily with a lock? I am not sure if the doors on the pickup are the same, but they sure look about the same from a distance?
You could almost have bought a house by now?

Just an idea, that guy that is breaking for spares, would he not perhaps be able to help with a window and temporarily with a lock? I am not sure if the doors on the pickup are the same, but they sure look about the same from a distance?
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
- Russ Kellermann
- Patrolman 1000+
Hey Peter,
Yeah, the windows are the same for pickup and wagon to my knowledge. Not a bad idea. Thanks.
Not sure about the lock tho, but i'm gonna ask them about that.
Luckily i have had insurance on many of the thefts, but we all know it never works in favour of the insured, one always loses. And yes, all i want is to buy my own place with a garage or two,but all my expendable income set aside for that is constantly used to offset ins excesses and security systems and so on , flip man, its not cool hey.
Yeah, the windows are the same for pickup and wagon to my knowledge. Not a bad idea. Thanks.
Not sure about the lock tho, but i'm gonna ask them about that.
Luckily i have had insurance on many of the thefts, but we all know it never works in favour of the insured, one always loses. And yes, all i want is to buy my own place with a garage or two,but all my expendable income set aside for that is constantly used to offset ins excesses and security systems and so on , flip man, its not cool hey.
-
- Patrolman
- Full Name: JG Shields
- Nickname: JG
- Home Town: Pretoria
- Current 4x4: Toyota Land Cruiser 105 GX 4500 EFi
Russ,
Just another thought. Find out from Nissan what the difference between the Patrol and Hard Body locks-mechanisms are? It may be woth your while looking for a complete set of door- and ignition locks from a bakkie lying on a scrap yard. The keys are the same...that I know. The inner part (transmitter) can be changed between the keys because the electronic parts of the entire mechanism can remain in place if you only change the key lock-mechanism itself.
I agree on the 21 day period for a factory replacement, however it will be the correct lock. It will be specially manufactured according to the VIN number. The big issue will therefore be cost....my guess.
Just another thought. Find out from Nissan what the difference between the Patrol and Hard Body locks-mechanisms are? It may be woth your while looking for a complete set of door- and ignition locks from a bakkie lying on a scrap yard. The keys are the same...that I know. The inner part (transmitter) can be changed between the keys because the electronic parts of the entire mechanism can remain in place if you only change the key lock-mechanism itself.
I agree on the 21 day period for a factory replacement, however it will be the correct lock. It will be specially manufactured according to the VIN number. The big issue will therefore be cost....my guess.
Patrol fan!
- Russ Kellermann
- Patrolman 1000+
yes, gonna hopefully go Nissan route, as i have lock insurance, however, i doubt it'll cover the cost , i only have R1000 lock cover. anyhoo, we'll see.
Window coming from PG Glass Jhb down to CT branch, so prob be fixed my tomorrow, thats good.
- Ross
- Full Name: Ross Holland
- Nickname: Ross
- Home Town: Cape Town
- Current 4x4: 1998 GU 4.2 Turbo Diesel
aka "The Polar Bear" - Home Language: English
Eish Russ,
Thats rough man.....what a pain in the @ss.
I don`t have any clever suggestions to add unfortunately, but you have my sympathy for what thats worth!
Hope you get it all sorted without too much additional expense and frustration.
R
Thats rough man.....what a pain in the @ss.

I don`t have any clever suggestions to add unfortunately, but you have my sympathy for what thats worth!
Hope you get it all sorted without too much additional expense and frustration.
R
Ross
1998 GU 4.2 Turbo Diesel: 2" OME, 33" Big Horns, 2x LR Tanks, Safari Snorkel, Dual Battery, Drawer System, etc etc
aka "The Polar Bear"
1998 GU 4.2 Turbo Diesel: 2" OME, 33" Big Horns, 2x LR Tanks, Safari Snorkel, Dual Battery, Drawer System, etc etc
aka "The Polar Bear"
- Russ Kellermann
- Patrolman 1000+
Shot Ross!
- G-MAN
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: A.G.HOLMES
- Nickname: G-MAN
- Home Town: Cape Town, Noordhoek
- Current 4x4: PATROL 4.8 GRX 2008, PATROL 4.8 GRX 2007, PATROL 4.8 GRX 2006, Defender 90 2.8i...
- Home Language: Engels
Die donderse skelms moet vasgetrap word!
Russ, next skelm we catch I will give you a call to come and deliver some pain..!

Sucks Gas and Hauls Ass!