- Theuhan
- Full Name: Theuhan
- Nickname: theuhan
- Home Town: Roodepoort
- Current 4x4: 1982 Datsun Safari
1992 gq Patrol SWB - Home Language: Afrikaans
Re: 4x4 Fitment Woes
Grant
I told him and showed him what I needed, and showed him what the black&dekker unit looks like, worst of all is like I said know them (I use to work for the company that they rent from ) and they have serviced my 40l fridge, so they knew what I needed, but prevered to try and sell me what they wanted to sell.
Also with respect I'm also in the selling game, it is selling basics that the salesperson needs to find out what the customers needs is, and cater for that, don't you think it would be more productive to train the sales staff, than to try and train the customers as to what and how they need to ask.
Remember I did not lose anything, I can walk into Marko now and buy a unit there, I wanted to buy from them because I knew them, they on the otherhand lost that sale, and a few more plus they lost my trust.
I told him and showed him what I needed, and showed him what the black&dekker unit looks like, worst of all is like I said know them (I use to work for the company that they rent from ) and they have serviced my 40l fridge, so they knew what I needed, but prevered to try and sell me what they wanted to sell.
Also with respect I'm also in the selling game, it is selling basics that the salesperson needs to find out what the customers needs is, and cater for that, don't you think it would be more productive to train the sales staff, than to try and train the customers as to what and how they need to ask.
Remember I did not lose anything, I can walk into Marko now and buy a unit there, I wanted to buy from them because I knew them, they on the otherhand lost that sale, and a few more plus they lost my trust.
82 Safari SOA
92 Patrol SWB
- Kagiso II
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Mac Mc Menamin
- Nickname: Oom Mac [Uncle Mac] [Uncle] [Oompie] Kagiso
- Home Town: BrentwoodPark, Benoni
- Current 4x4: 1982 Datsun Safari 2,8 aka LOBO; [1,300,000 Km verby !]
'99 PATROL 4,2 diesel.
2012 Jimny [SWAMBO se Kantoor-toe] - Home Language: AFRIKAANS
In reply to Grant's advice
[I'll try and be brief without being abrupt - and as far as possible keep within grammarian standards] (en jy sal jou wat verbeel - ek sal selfs spletjek ...
)
You comments in RED and my replies in BLUE
Extra Mile spent a month or longer after our retutrn from Botswana - trying to fix what they messed up - and then pulled up stakes. That outlet don't exist any more. .
Going back to a dealer for **** work that does not perform as intended - that is not the biggest problem - getting stuck in the middle of nowhere when he is not near - THAT is what irks me most. That discomfort and expenses they NEVER refund you for. And where eI go even can put lives at risk. Being without fuel in the Silinda Forest Reserve .. Bru, you can be stuck there for weeks before someone else comes through.
Big Country 4x4- Again, demand a refund- make a big noise- I know you can. That 'Big Country" also vanished - as pointed out elsewhere , they are now under "new management" - so who do I fight with? I don't even own that SANI anymore
4x4 Mega World - Drawer systems are vehicle specific- ??? Then that saleslady should have pointed that out to me?? I am not the expert in their product, I did not order from a brochure - I ordered the exact same item they had on display - after I tested that the ammo boxes would fit in there - but what they installed was not that item i based my decision. THAT is my gripe - Basic dishonesty and then afterwards come up with the same argue you point out: The item is vehicle specific [R6 000 I would NOT have spent - had I known beforehand]
Safari Centre – Fitted KC High-lites- Where did you tell them you wanted them ? I see you did not have a bumper or nudge, so In my opinion they should never have even fitted them [/color]- Oh the fitted the lights where I suggested all right - but the WAY they did it ... they took the short cut and did not brace [support] it underneath - they just attached it straight onto the plastic protrudes on the bumper. [They have since fitted the nudge bar which Izak gifted me [for free] and fitted the Hella spotlights (on which they botched the wiring of the new lights
LA Sport Centurion - Call Herman Timmerman- He disagree's with you comments - 072 489 8890 I think Herman should just phone Hennie Vermaak first - and get the verification on what I said from Hennie first hand - before calling me a lier . I have photo's of that wheel carrier on my roofrack and teh sapre having to ride in Frikkie's bakkie - AND that bumper is now on LOBO - still without the spare wheel carrier it was meant to have [LOBO se spaarwiel le binne los rond - want ...]
Wild Africa 4x4 Roof Rack and fuel tank:
Rails are the only way to fit the roof rack. No other option available. Safety and approved by Nissan.
NO - not so. That specific roof rack was bought with the clamps that it had always been fitted to my vehicles - It was on Brutus for years - then transferred to BOEZMAN - BUT the one clamp broke [5 minutes welding would have fixed it] But it was in W / Africa interest to drill holes in my roof [which I did not want] and sell me a "rail system' which now only frustrates me daily - with the clamps Dwergie and I could remove the roof rack in minutes - Now, I cant get to the bolts and at a serious extra cost have to drive around with a roof rack permanently fixed to my car - causing drag, terribly noisy and COST me in fuel consumption (What should have been a R250 job at the MOST now cost me R1600 + fitment + the extra fuel every Km I drive.
Fuel tank has probably got a problem with the breather hose.Again - as I said - when one is in the middle of Botswana - it NOT a good time to find out you cannot fill a tank ( you know what fitting a tank like that costs) Two towns before that point had no fuel - we were informed that Shakawe [the next fill point] also had no fuel (it's the same truck that delivers) THEN - "being nice" is NOT high on my agenda
When you gave then the plastic tank, did you also give them the hoses, mounting brackets and filler pipe ? I think they used their heads and to a risk in trying to help you. Agreed - maybe they did - but in doing so still left me in a jam, not being able to fill the tank in Botswana [because I have this tank, I did not take jerry cans - Now what? - and if they can find hoses for a stainless steel tank, surely they can find hoses for a plastic tank??? - MAIN POINT IS I did not want a stainless steel tank - read the postings, here and on other forums - THEY CRACK AND LEAK FUEL and will not break when I am near to Willie or Bobby or Wayne - it breaks in the Richtersveld, or Savuti, or Kafue or Cameroon, or East Angola Highlands or in Silinda Forest
Your tank is probably a Front Runner model. Tank it to Bobby or Wayne. I am confident they will help you. Thanks - for now the tank is sorted, it fill up again [after they worked on it TWICE
But my fight and gripe is not with you Grant - on the contrary, I regard as a friend - So - THANK toy for your advise & comments - I just had to reply to high light the missing info parts.
But your input is really highly appreciated-
Thanks a milj.
oompie
(en assa nou een-of-twee van jelle is wat g'dink 't ik sal vi aaltyt so stane skruyewe - Versjeetdit - sommer nou al

[I'll try and be brief without being abrupt - and as far as possible keep within grammarian standards] (en jy sal jou wat verbeel - ek sal selfs spletjek ...

You comments in RED and my replies in BLUE
Extra Mile spent a month or longer after our retutrn from Botswana - trying to fix what they messed up - and then pulled up stakes. That outlet don't exist any more. .
Going back to a dealer for **** work that does not perform as intended - that is not the biggest problem - getting stuck in the middle of nowhere when he is not near - THAT is what irks me most. That discomfort and expenses they NEVER refund you for. And where eI go even can put lives at risk. Being without fuel in the Silinda Forest Reserve .. Bru, you can be stuck there for weeks before someone else comes through.
Big Country 4x4- Again, demand a refund- make a big noise- I know you can. That 'Big Country" also vanished - as pointed out elsewhere , they are now under "new management" - so who do I fight with? I don't even own that SANI anymore
4x4 Mega World - Drawer systems are vehicle specific- ??? Then that saleslady should have pointed that out to me?? I am not the expert in their product, I did not order from a brochure - I ordered the exact same item they had on display - after I tested that the ammo boxes would fit in there - but what they installed was not that item i based my decision. THAT is my gripe - Basic dishonesty and then afterwards come up with the same argue you point out: The item is vehicle specific [R6 000 I would NOT have spent - had I known beforehand]
Safari Centre – Fitted KC High-lites- Where did you tell them you wanted them ? I see you did not have a bumper or nudge, so In my opinion they should never have even fitted them [/color]- Oh the fitted the lights where I suggested all right - but the WAY they did it ... they took the short cut and did not brace [support] it underneath - they just attached it straight onto the plastic protrudes on the bumper. [They have since fitted the nudge bar which Izak gifted me [for free] and fitted the Hella spotlights (on which they botched the wiring of the new lights
LA Sport Centurion - Call Herman Timmerman- He disagree's with you comments - 072 489 8890 I think Herman should just phone Hennie Vermaak first - and get the verification on what I said from Hennie first hand - before calling me a lier . I have photo's of that wheel carrier on my roofrack and teh sapre having to ride in Frikkie's bakkie - AND that bumper is now on LOBO - still without the spare wheel carrier it was meant to have [LOBO se spaarwiel le binne los rond - want ...]
Wild Africa 4x4 Roof Rack and fuel tank:
Rails are the only way to fit the roof rack. No other option available. Safety and approved by Nissan.
NO - not so. That specific roof rack was bought with the clamps that it had always been fitted to my vehicles - It was on Brutus for years - then transferred to BOEZMAN - BUT the one clamp broke [5 minutes welding would have fixed it] But it was in W / Africa interest to drill holes in my roof [which I did not want] and sell me a "rail system' which now only frustrates me daily - with the clamps Dwergie and I could remove the roof rack in minutes - Now, I cant get to the bolts and at a serious extra cost have to drive around with a roof rack permanently fixed to my car - causing drag, terribly noisy and COST me in fuel consumption (What should have been a R250 job at the MOST now cost me R1600 + fitment + the extra fuel every Km I drive.
Fuel tank has probably got a problem with the breather hose.Again - as I said - when one is in the middle of Botswana - it NOT a good time to find out you cannot fill a tank ( you know what fitting a tank like that costs) Two towns before that point had no fuel - we were informed that Shakawe [the next fill point] also had no fuel (it's the same truck that delivers) THEN - "being nice" is NOT high on my agenda
When you gave then the plastic tank, did you also give them the hoses, mounting brackets and filler pipe ? I think they used their heads and to a risk in trying to help you. Agreed - maybe they did - but in doing so still left me in a jam, not being able to fill the tank in Botswana [because I have this tank, I did not take jerry cans - Now what? - and if they can find hoses for a stainless steel tank, surely they can find hoses for a plastic tank??? - MAIN POINT IS I did not want a stainless steel tank - read the postings, here and on other forums - THEY CRACK AND LEAK FUEL and will not break when I am near to Willie or Bobby or Wayne - it breaks in the Richtersveld, or Savuti, or Kafue or Cameroon, or East Angola Highlands or in Silinda Forest
Your tank is probably a Front Runner model. Tank it to Bobby or Wayne. I am confident they will help you. Thanks - for now the tank is sorted, it fill up again [after they worked on it TWICE
But my fight and gripe is not with you Grant - on the contrary, I regard as a friend - So - THANK toy for your advise & comments - I just had to reply to high light the missing info parts.
But your input is really highly appreciated-
Thanks a milj.
oompie
(en assa nou een-of-twee van jelle is wat g'dink 't ik sal vi aaltyt so stane skruyewe - Versjeetdit - sommer nou al

Don't bring God down to your level of faith ... bring your faith up to His level!
- Grant
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Francis
- Nickname: Grant
- Home Town: Rosendal
- Current 4x4: 2020 70 Series V8 LC
Hilux 2,4 4x4 SC Dakar - Home Language: English
Molo Nkosi,
Yena lungila. Mina bonga. Mina trisha siza wena kopela. Mine funa lo cell nomber gawena samblief,
Groete
Yena lungila. Mina bonga. Mina trisha siza wena kopela. Mine funa lo cell nomber gawena samblief,
Groete
V8 Power
You can't expect to be old and wise
if you were never young and crazy
- Grant
- Patrolman 1000+
- Full Name: Francis
- Nickname: Grant
- Home Town: Rosendal
- Current 4x4: 2020 70 Series V8 LC
Hilux 2,4 4x4 SC Dakar - Home Language: English
Hi Stephan,
Was activly involved as a partner at LA Sport Centurion. Mining is also my passion, and I am just a share holder now.
V8 Power
- Stefan
- Full Name: Stefan de Villiers
- Nickname: Stefan
- Home Town: Bothasig, Cape Town
- Current 4x4: 2002 3.0 GL Patrol
- Home Language: Afrikaans
Thanks Grant,
Just asking - I can see you're very passionate about doing (and getting) quality work.
PS. Glad to see LAS giving some recognition to the Patrol. There is a fullpage LAS sport featuring only their Patrol in the new Weg-Ry/ Drive-Out.
Just asking - I can see you're very passionate about doing (and getting) quality work.
PS. Glad to see LAS giving some recognition to the Patrol. There is a fullpage LAS sport featuring only their Patrol in the new Weg-Ry/ Drive-Out.