Page 4 of 48
Re: Patrol's 60th Birthday
Posted: 12 May 2011 08:14
by Russ Kellermann
Tell me where and when and i'm there.
I do believe though that although it would be great to have the other Nissan vehicles there, and i am of the opinion that they are welcome, that we remember what this is about, the Patrol/Safari/Mav, and that all images and visuals should depict this, particularly those that may go to a publication.
The public are easily confused (as is Nissan SA) , so for there to be hundreds of other Nissan vehicles there would be to dilute the marketing punch and attraction ,to the Patrol in particular, we seek to fulfil by such united standpoint.
I'm just saying bare this in mind.
Posted: 12 May 2011 08:22
by Peter Connan
Thanks Russ for putting my thoughts into understandable words.
Posted: 12 May 2011 11:29
by Kagiso II
Oompie is thinking [again???? vlug manne vlug, hier kom groot brand, ruik al die rook]
O K - not funny - What I was thinking: Some one must take this and coordinate {Date; Places in Provinces all over RSA & sommer hook Botswana & Namibia as well}
Ideal would be the NISSAN 4x4 Club who could coordinate as they already have a foot in the door with NISSAN SA.
All the dealers must send that notice to all Patrol owners on their books.
All Patrol owners should have the "notice" on hand and wherever they go and see another Patrol, stick it in their door handle [not under the wiper, that gets thrown away without being read] (I'm sure we can come up with a standardised notice to fit on A5 paper, and each person can print their own - about 10 or 20 would do for a start]
Then - all the "Local Papers" [like REKORD in Pretoria] etc, make foto - send fotos to one central (The Coordinator) who will than make one moosa big great groot collage of all the gatherings - and NISSAN SA will carry the cost of that to be the centre spread of each & every newspaper & magazine in the land [and neighbouring countries]
[gou bring di ebrandblusser ... dit BRAND hoier by my ...]

Posted: 24 May 2011 22:53
by navigator
Saltman wrote:G-man
I have to disagree with your 5 tally - the Cape Patrol fraternity has grown nicely over the past 2 years.
I am convinced we should be able to muster at least 10 - 20 Patrols somewhere around CT - maybe on Bloubergstrand with Table mountain in the backdrop?
Hands up from CT those that are willing to "pose" next to their Patrols ...
Saltman is in ...
Gee my lank genoeg kennis en ek brink drie - miskien vier vanuit die Baai......

Posted: 25 May 2011 08:46
by beast

Just to keep everybody a bit up to date, not that there is much. The 4x4club has spoken to the guys in Nissan and they are deciding. I have spoken to a "contact" who is buddies with the "top' and the "TOP" will speak to the bottom and let us know, but it sounds positive that we will get some dough. I have spoken to the lady at 3 provences in Volksrust and they have space in September and are eager to host us. If we then get money and we can pay accomodation, track fee and food, then only fuel is for the Patrol owners account. That is the objective, if we achieve we will have to see. Have also spoken to Leisure Wheels to get them there. Will keep you informed
Posted: 25 May 2011 08:54
by Peter Connan
Beast thanks for your efforts.
As I mentioned somewhere else, if Nissan would cover some of our expenses I would be exceedingly happy, but in my opinion what Nissan really need to do is to send some cars, and get the press involved.
If they would send at least one of every model of patrol currently on sale here in SA, being the 4.8 and 3l wagons, and at least two bakkies, one of which must have the "Safari pack" modifications, and then advertise the event in most of the newspapers in the larger centra. Perhaps they can also give each patrol owner who has his car serviced with them a personal invite?
Cheers
Peter
Posted: 26 May 2011 07:49
by Grant
Beast,
Please as Nissan where the Nissans are that were sponsered to the Voet Spore guys. We could add those patrols as well as invite the three of them to join us. I will be speaking to Lionel Lewis to see what LA Sport can do.
Regards
Posted: 26 May 2011 14:08
by Dolf
Hi Peter,
As die datum lank genoeg voor die tyd bekend is, ± 4 Weke, gaan ek my 100% gee om daar te wees vanuit die Noordkaap.
Groete.
Dolf
Posted: 26 May 2011 14:37
by Grant
Posted: 27 May 2011 07:43
by Herrie