Page 2 of 2
Re: Richtersveld 2016
Posted: 12 Nov 2016 16:23
by Kagiso II
Relax Bro .. you drive a PATROL .. that sand is nothing. The park rangers drive two wheel drive bakkies. The farmers in the park go around in 4x2 Isuzu and the odd Toy 1800 bakkie.,
Tjek where you place the wheels. Dont cut the tyres .. you only need one spare if you go aware.
Posted: 12 Nov 2016 18:58
by Johann 1984
Thanks Kagiso,
On your point of 'It's a Patrol': I drove into Kathu this afternoon. An elderly gentleman walks up to me at the local shopping centre's parkinglot and asks 'wat is dit die?'. I reply 'dis 'n Patrol oom'. His reply 'kom die ding van China af? Waarom het jy nie Land Cruiser gekoop nie?'. Haha...
Posted: 13 Nov 2016 18:16
by Kagiso II
Posted: 14 Nov 2016 08:46
by Rhett
How's it Johan
I did Richtersveld in December before, lekker hot (some days hit 45) but easily survivable if you carry lots of water as stated. We took 25l between wife and myself just for drinking water. That was for about 5 days. Find a shady spot where possible (Potjiespram is one of my favourite spots).
Careful driving and wheel placement is the trick. We lost no tyres, in fact not even a puncture. I remember traveling to one site on which (I thought) the road was pretty technical, when an old 4x2 Hilux came flying past me carrying about 10 workers on the back.
I have done the whole park in my X-trail and got stuck once in heavy sand, but managed to reverse out and take an alternative route.
I will be passing through Richtersveld this December in the Patrol, on my way up to Luderitz. Maybe we can have a cold one somewhere