WannabeTroll
Full Name: Oz
Nickname: Oz
Home Town: East London
Current 4x4: Hilux
Home Language: Enbglish

Re: Opinions on 98 Y61 4.2 non turbo

Post by WannabeTroll »

Just uploaded a video the 'current' owner sent me of the engine bay.

http://cloudbridge.co.za/patrol/WhatsApp%20Video%202018-05-16%20at%2019.28.53.mp4

Any comments?
Currently looking for a Y61 Patrol TD42.
hugejp
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: JP Viviers
Nickname: Oupoot
Home Town: JHB
Current 4x4: THE PATROL COLLECTION
2004 4.8 GRX TURBO "Tinkerbell"
2003 TD42T GRX "The Coal Roller"
Home Language: Half & Half

Post by hugejp »

"Never thought to crank it over empty to empty the filters. That's a nice tip!"

Just dont do it while your Dad is under the car... I wish I could go back & tell my 12yr old self that! Eish I got a lekker vettie...
----------------------------------------------------------------------

You CAN with a NISSAN!

Jy KAN met 'n DATSUN!
ricster
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Cedric Warner
Nickname: Cedric
Home Town: Alberton Gauteng
Current 4x4: '99 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Turbo Diesel
Home Language: English
Location: LA..... No not Los Angles ..... Lower Alberton, Gauteng

Post by ricster »

ooooooooooo.... I LOVE a dirty engine when one wants to buy a car.... It shows exactly what the engine is and where any leaks would be. That looks and sounds good.... just like a 13 socket in rumbling in the sump..... :rolling: :rolling: :rolling: ( I love that description !!!!)

JP.... only you boet....... :rolling: :rolling: :rolling: :rolling: :rolling:
Regards
Cedric
Nissan Patrol GL 4.2 Diesel Turbo (Iron Maiden)
Nissan SANI 3.0 V6 4x4 (SOLD)
Isuzu KB 280 DT 2x4 ('ol Smokey) - SOLD
Suzuki TL 1000R "V twin" (Growler) - SOLD
WannabeTroll

Post by WannabeTroll »

Haha. I must be honest here. I know very little about diesels. Never owned one. Hence one of the main reasons for going for simple one with no turbo. I replaced a turbo on a mazda 2.5 once which I didn't enjoy.

Always thought of these NA diesels as tractor motors, which they are ... haha.
Peter Connan
Full Name: Peter Connan
Nickname: Piet
Home Town: Kempton Park
Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
Home Language: Afrikaans

Post by Peter Connan »

ricster wrote: 24 May 2018 10:07 I do the unthinkable..... as soon as the oil stops running out the sump plug start the engine and as soon as the low oil light comes on I turn off the engine. I do this for 2 reasons. Firstly I like to know that the light/sensor is working, and secondly that drains a lot of the oil out of the 2 filters so there is almost no messy oil spilling out when I change the filters the next morning. When I start up after putting in the new oil, you can either disconnect the fuel cut solenoid wire while cranking the motor over for about 5 odd seconds a few times to get the oil circulating a bit. Then reconnect the solenoid wire to the Injector pump and start it up, and all should be well
Jo, some okes like living dangerously!

:mytwocents:

1) I used to be quite involved with the Lotus Register's racing series. One of my friends was the premier engine builder for this series. One of the guys added a spark cut-off to the oil pressure warning circuit. If the oil pressure dropped below 1/2 a bar, the engine cut out immediately. A couple of races later, he ran over some debris which tore went through his oil cooler. Despite the cut-ott, the engine still seized.

2) On our recent trip to Bots, my oil pressure started dropping. Before the oil pressure light ever cane on, I could hear the motor getting noisier. At the time, I thought it was just a tappet rattle, but I know better now.
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
WannabeTroll

Post by WannabeTroll »

Cedric. Your comment about the missing socket go me thinking. Surely all the TD42 motors sound the same regards of whether they have a turbo or not?! What does the ZD30 sound like?

There's a ZD30 Y61 here in East London which I went to look at. They couldn't get it started so didn't hear what it sounded like or bother taking it for a drive. Pretty rough condition.
Y61 ZD30

I might still call them up and try take it again.
iandvl
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Ian de Villiers
Nickname: Ian
Home Town: Garsfontein
Current 4x4: Nissan Patrol 4.5 GRX
Home Language: English

Post by iandvl »

2001 3L Patrol ? And would not start ? I would walk away.

3L Patrols prior to 2004 were known as those with the 'hand grenade' motors...
Ian de Villiers

Patrol 4.5 GRX
Jurgens XT65 2x0 with Super Select Zero
ORRA: H80
SJC
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: SJC
Nickname: Fanus
Home Town: Nelspruit
Current 4x4: Patrol 4.2 SGL
Home Language: Afrikaans/English

Post by SJC »

WannabeTroll wrote: 22 May 2018 20:38
1998 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Diesel(Non Turbo)
If it is in good condition , go for it. :salute:
I think there is a lot less that can go wrong with a n/a 4.2 . Have heard of many turbo'd 4.2 being opened up for heart surgery or transplants, not so much on n/a 4.2's..
Obviously if you want speed, then this will not work for you.

my 2c's...
‘96 GQ 4.2 SGL
‘01 GU 4.5 GRX
‘08 GU TD42 BAKKIE
Michael
Full Name: Michael
Nickname: Steyn
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Patrol GU 4.2 Turbo Diesel
Home Language: Afrikaans

Post by Michael »

SJC wrote: 24 May 2018 18:44
WannabeTroll wrote: 22 May 2018 20:38
1998 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Diesel(Non Turbo)
If it is in good condition , go for it. :salute:
I think there is a lot less that can go wrong with a n/a 4.2 . Have heard of many turbo'd 4.2 being opened up for heart surgery or transplants, not so much on n/a 4.2's..
Obviously if you want speed, then this will not work for you.

my 2c's...
Well I dont agree with that statement.
I am one of the few people working exclusively on the TD42 and my core business is turbo conversiones.
I can say without a doubt that I have not seen one engine failure on a correctly built turbo engine that can point to the turbo conversion being the problem.
Bolt on conversions (where the NA pistons are not changed to turbo spec) are the only exclusion on this as they are not designed for the job and might fail over time.

I would say the no1 killer for a TD42 is overheating. Almost all engine related failures or damage I can honestly say comes from overheating and its a mixed bag of NA and turbo.
"The Just shall live by Faith" Rom1:17

Check out my build here My Patrol
And my engine rebuild here mostly engine related stuff
WannabeTroll

Post by WannabeTroll »

Morning Gents

Out of curiousity now, Michael - what is the going cost to do the conversion? Are they refurbed turbos or everything new. What all does it involve. I'm guessing the following:

Different exhaust manifold.
Turbo
Tubing
Pistons
Rings
EGT Sensor/Gauge
Larger Air box
Intercooler
Additional Oil Filter

Cheers

Return to “01. Start Here”