My KoolStoof, so oud soos Ek (TD42-Ti GQ 1997)

Showcase your baby
TIMKEN
Full Name: NICO LINTVELT
Nickname: NICO
Home Town: THABAZIMBI
Current 4x4: NISSAN PATROL 4.8
NISSAN SAFARI DOUBLE CAB
Home Language: AFRIKAANS

Re: My KoolStoof, so oud soos Ek

Post by TIMKEN »

TijmenvdS wrote:
TIMKEN wrote:Mooi man. Jy se jy het die 35" tyres van jou pa se Safari geleen. Twee vrae het hy die Safari gelig en indien so met hoeveel millimeter (body/suspension lift)? Het hy ander blad vere in gesit of shackles langer gemaak?
Dankie, Hy het die oorspronklike vere vervang met jeep vere en die shackle mounting punte op die chassis verleng met 100mm. Ongelukkig mes hy die voorste venders chop.
Die arme Safari lyk nou bietjie sad met my 33" op en is bietjie verwaarloos, hy sal eendag weer aandag kry maar op die oomlik is daai lexus nie n mens se maat nie.
Wat bedoel jy met daai lexus is nie n man se maat.

Hoekom het het julle Jeep vere gebruik en watter jeep se vere spesifiek? Wat was die eind ruseltaat mm lift en ry gerief hard/sag?

Jammer vir die vrae maar besig met my beplanning vir my safari rebuild.
TijmenvdS
Full Name: Tijmen van der Steenhoven
Nickname: Tijmen
Home Town: Pretoria
Current 4x4: 1997 Patrol TD42 GQ ST
Chevrolet 1974 K10 402 V8
Home Language: Afrikaans

Post by TijmenvdS »

Ag daai Safari is al op sy 3de autobox en tiptronic het nognooit gewerk nie. Die Safari is die speel voertuig so hy het op n tyd baie modder gesien en as gevolg van die alternator wat so laag sit op die enjin het hy minstend 2 keer al op gepak en dis nou noggals n job om ho uit te kry tussen die crossmember en die enjin. Die starter sit in die V van die motor bo en daar is 2 klein dreinering gatjies en as hulle verstop is dan is dit nie n dag nie dan pak die starter op, die ergste is om al die plastiek covers terug te sit nevermind die starter. Dan al die kere wat ons hom tot op n plek gery het en more wil hy net nie start nie. Alex Roux het wel n goeie Lexus ombouing met die standaard Patrol ratkas en dit werk baie beter.

My pa sê hy het die vere laat doen 15 jaar gelede en het ongelukkig geen idee wat daar in is nie. Ons het wel probleme met die diff angle en propshaft want hy vibreer erg. Ek het eens n foto op facebook gesien van n kompetisie Safari in Pretoria op bladvere met twee teenoorstaande wiele op 200 Liter olie dromme en die ander twee wiele op die grond :surprised: miskien weet Tinus wie dit is. Maar rit gerief et blykbaar tonne verbeter, en ek moet getuig dat hy op n klipperige pad ongelooflik ry.
TijmenvdS

Post by TijmenvdS »

It has been a wile since I have done an update and a lot has happened.
I have been jumping between projects as time, parts and money becomes available so I just continue with different things as I am able to.
Firstly note that 35” with a N/A TD42 is not your friend. I have never before experienced an engine completely drained of power in lowrane and we have a 2.7 hilux on 33”.
On a normal uphill you put it in 3rd and hope to maintain 60km/h.
Towing uphill you put it in 2nd and try your best to maintain 40km/h :rolling:
Sandwani Klip on 35”
A58DFDC2-528F-4C70-8F50-4DF12D6D6756.jpeg (280.86 KiB) Viewed 6560 times
On 33” I climbed this rock quite well but this time it was quite a challenge and I barely made it after quite a few tries and a lot of cluch burning because it just does not have power.
Towing looks right but was very slow going
D1F79295-638E-40D3-A468-4AD5DAFC7158.jpeg (442.12 KiB) Viewed 6560 times
Luckily I didn’t camp to far from home but on a few hills I seriously considered lowrange :rolleyes:

I am still busy with my gullwings and got a few rubbers an hinges after waiting a month :redface: so I will start with it soon, the mdf templates I made are busy turning into weetbix with all of the rain (which I am great full for :blonde: MUDDD!!!!) So I will continue building them soon.
Winch and Lights
6B89EBFF-5F24-40FE-95E3-E2375E73EEBD.jpeg (272.71 KiB) Viewed 6560 times
I also fitted the winch with a synthetic line and some LED ligts, I haven't been able to test the winch because the Patrol doesnt have a gray area. It either does the obstice or it doesn’t but I am sure some mud will help me :blonde:
The LED lights didn’t impress me with their lighting so I am still a bit conflicted over them :confused:
Bent Panhard Rod
CB9E3D48-7594-41B1-A869-0BA7462E7A1F.jpeg (398.15 KiB) Viewed 6560 times
Somewhere at Sandwani I mannaged to bend my panhard rod but The bigger the problem the bigger the hammer. I “timmered” It straight and boxed it with some angle iron and so far so good :biggrin:
Reinforced Panhard Rod
7B97C0F4-5479-4474-8558-6D45F2A79095.jpeg (324.22 KiB) Viewed 6560 times
Wider opening Barn Door
ACE264EA-2832-47AC-808D-DA0AC405DC3A.jpeg (288.97 KiB) Viewed 6560 times
I also finished modifying the big door hinges for it to open wider in preparation for my drawer system. It was quite unpleasant to do since I had new hinges made specified to open bigger but they didn’t fit even a little bit and cost a lot of time to remodify. Then I had no more motivation left to do the small door.
Drawer System Platform
48DC2D4D-58D3-4005-8650-85CCF41E5D52.jpeg (187.19 KiB) Viewed 6560 times
I also cut a base to start my drawer system and dual battery system.
TijmenvdS

Post by TijmenvdS »

Then came POWER!!!

Tinus found a Patrol Bakkie motor and after some deep discussion with my father :pray: we bought it and Micheal did his magicianing :blonde:
Too many Projects
9BB467C5-2F0B-406A-A74C-E263A206EE7C.jpeg (331.9 KiB) Viewed 6554 times
This wat the firts time I had taken an engine out and put it in so it was quite an experience, one I would not like to do again :mytwocents: but I am glad I did because I saw a few thing that had to be done.
How to undo the top gearbox bolts
FC3ADF24-6852-4DDD-9668-32DF815ADE44.jpeg (151.64 KiB) Viewed 6554 times
To loosen the top gearbox bolts I had to gather all the extensions I could borrow to reach from behind the transfer box. But the bakkie motor doesn’t have an airbox on top of the engine so to put the bolts back I sat on top of the engine and was able to reach them with a spanner.
Empty engine bay
DA27167C-ED3E-408B-9E2E-370BB0217102.jpeg (224.87 KiB) Viewed 6554 times
It made me very nervous to see the empty engine bay because I know how it is going with out other projects who's engine got taken out :confused:
On the Lift
On the Lift
BCE5A1D1-DDA2-41BA-865D-175116F22359.jpeg (261.73 KiB) Viewed 6554 times
Rust Repair
Rust Repair
F7A5CEDE-A69B-4408-9EBE-D0B581E47D56.jpeg (283.86 KiB) Viewed 6554 times
While the engine was out I welded all the holes shut due to the damage the badly mounted second battery did. But to weld a 6mm hole shut one first burn a 30mm hole and then start welding it shut :doh: :oldtimer:
Welded, grined and painted
138D4070-F13A-49D7-82FB-10581FC7887E.jpeg (206.53 KiB) Viewed 6554 times
Steering rod rubber
11E42B8B-4A4D-4C8D-808F-B9C820B6FF51.jpeg (306.21 KiB) Viewed 6554 times
I also noticed that because of the body lift the rubber between the steering box and steering rod was a bit kokaai so I put a few washers in.
Close enough
E276F9D9-30B8-4DBB-84C0-3D24F85A365D.jpeg (283.62 KiB) Viewed 6554 times

Then the engine came back. We installed it and the was OEMF!!!
I don’t have an intercooler on yet so with the 35” I have to check the madman like a hawk but all still in progress.
At the moment I am at viper for an exhaust, just to move the noise a bit to the back, but oh wat a heavenly noise it makes WWW
Madman
Madman
451C319D-CA96-4158-8188-AF6D2A16FD62.jpeg (123.52 KiB) Viewed 6552 times
I diced my friend with his 1999 2.7 hilux on 31” and it was n close one. The firt one I won and the second one I was infront up to 80km/h then had to tap off for egt’s. But that 2.7 is not a bad machine because it was on my tail all the way. Bit one of us were in 35” so I think that is quite impressive :thumbup:
Bre
Full Name: Brent Harris
Nickname: Bre
Home Town: Bellville
Current 4x4: 1999 Nissan Patrol 4.5 GRX
2000 Nissan Terrano II 2.7 TDi Sport
2003 Nissan Hardbody 3.3 SEL DC 4x4
Home Language: English

Post by Bre »

Hy kom mooi aan Tijmen :thumbup:
hugejp
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: JP Viviers
Nickname: Oupoot
Home Town: JHB
Current 4x4: THE PATROL COLLECTION
2004 4.8 GRX TURBO "Tinkerbell"
2003 TD42T GRX "The Coal Roller"
Home Language: Half & Half

Post by hugejp »

Baie mooi boet!!
----------------------------------------------------------------------

You CAN with a NISSAN!

Jy KAN met 'n DATSUN!
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

So waar is die exhaust prentjies??? :salute: :salute:
TijmenvdS

Post by TijmenvdS »

Pre Hennops
Pre Hennops
IMG_1498.JPG (496.31 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
So at first I didn't notice much difference with the exhaust except that the heavenly noise move to the back which was sad for a bit but appreciated on the highway.
Ever since the engine install I couldn't really tell but it was losing power more and more even to a point where I was driving behind a 4.2 N/A Cruiser to Hennops for the charity day and the Cruiser was faster between traffic lights. So it got to a point where it felt that the turbo was only compensating for the 35" badly. :confused:
Even in that condition 4x4ing improved significantly and I was quite pleased, so at the end of the day just before the braai we went far a splash in the water hole, I drove through carefully because I knew my air filter is not correct as it is one of those cone type crap and was "liberated" of my cousins Land Rover, just that statement makes me kringe, should have know something will go wrong :confused: . So after driving through slowly and correctly, I stopped to check and surely some water got in. Luckily it didn't "suck" a lot of water as to cause any concern but left the filter damp. So I drove from the water hole to the lapa without a filter just to give it a chance to dry while be Braai :wink: so I decide to give it a bit of juice just to check is all is wel...maar toe voertsek daai ding. :surprised: It was the bleddie air filter that suffocated the whole system.

So that week I looked for the biggest Donaldson air box that I could fit under the hood and made it work, made a few brackets and had to move the Radiator overflow bottle forward a bit. It has Two filters inside. The second filter is suppose to be replaced every 3rd main filter replacement. Will see how filter life goes but the main filter is cheaper than the correct TD42 filters and is used on so many trucks and commercial equipment that it might be more freely available, but time will tell.
Donaldson 1.jpg
Donaldson 1.jpg (427.71 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Donaldson 2.jpg
Donaldson 2.jpg (407.34 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
So the next day me and my Hilux Chommie decided to go try Piesnagskloof again. Last time was with Bre's 4.5 and that didn't impress me at all. Realy loved the GU but on standard supention was just to low for the technical stuff but awesome and comfortable tourer.
But this time I came prepared, lifted and on 35" tires :blonde:
Ag dit was maar nou net kinderspeletjies :biggrin:
Pointed.jpg
Pointed.jpg (555.99 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Piesang Kloof.jpg
Piesang Kloof.jpg (445.9 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
With the new airbox there was at last real Power :woo: and EGT's lowered considerably.

Then came the time to start with the Intercooler. I sukkel-ed on my on for a wile trying to locate a decent intercooler anywhere from truck parts to goldwagen to the turbo people and no one wanted to help or it was rediculously priced.
Finaly I gave up and asked Tinus and Micheal for help. Within a 2 days I had a decent sided intercooler in hand. 600x300x76. Go big or go home.
I made all the brackets and made it fit behind the grill and Micheal arranged for the pipe work.
The major challenges making it fit was the left aircon pipe from the condenser had to be rerouted slightly and I had to grind away about 10-20mm of the bottom of my grill.
Put it on some rubber mountings as well just to make sure things don't vibrate apart.
Aircon Pipe & Brackets.jpg
Aircon Pipe & Brackets.jpg (522.84 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Top Bracket.jpg
Top Bracket.jpg (536.92 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Bottom Bracket.jpg
Bottom Bracket.jpg (421.03 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Front 1.jpg
Front 1.jpg (507.66 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Front 2.jpg
Front 2.jpg (399.78 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
What came back today can only be described as ART.
Considering making the bonnet out of transparent perspex so I can look at it while driving. WWW
(excuse the dirty engine :doh: )
Art 1.jpg
Art 1.jpg (471.79 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Art 2.jpg
Art 2.jpg (429.98 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
Art 3.jpg
Art 3.jpg (461.1 KiB) Viewed 6408 times
It walks as koel as a Komkommer now :rolling:
TijmenvdS

Post by TijmenvdS »

Then on a few side notes:
Tip one: when changing engines, listen to advice on the protrusion of pins that is used to count your revs and don't just sommer exchange sensors. :doh:
Rev Sender.jpg
Rev Sender.jpg (174.85 KiB) Viewed 6406 times
Then Donaldson has a thingamajig that can notify you when it is time to change your airfilter, a restriction meter.
Borrowed one from Tinus just to see if my airbox is flowing nicely and it does seem to.
Restriction Meter.jpg
Restriction Meter.jpg (298.63 KiB) Viewed 6406 times
Simulated Dirty Filter.jpg
Simulated Dirty Filter.jpg (263.19 KiB) Viewed 6406 times
I also made a bit of progress on the gullwings, just enough to figure out that simply welding a piano hinge to a frame will not clear the round corners of the cab :doh: but all ready got some different hinges to try next week. Really want to finish them because I have been driving with MDF panels since the river trip and they are one rain storm away from weetbix :confused:
Gullwings Prep 1.jpg
Gullwings Prep 1.jpg (295.63 KiB) Viewed 6406 times
Gullwings Prep 2.jpg
Gullwings Prep 2.jpg (295.97 KiB) Viewed 6406 times
I would also like to build a nice Dash box for a 2-way radio, Madman and Boost gauge. Double sided tape does not look that good. :naughty:
Dash.jpg
Dash.jpg (361.25 KiB) Viewed 6406 times
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

Netjies dude netjies ....nou vir n bietjie boost en feul en jy ga daai 35 draai op n teer pad

Return to “08a. Your Patrol”