NOROC: Strategic Session on the "Way Forward": 2017-01-14

Planning a get together (GTG), trip or competition?

Are you interested in being a member of the NOROC?

Yes
63%
No
37%

Total votes: 30

David M
Patrolman
Patrolman
Full Name: David Marais
Nickname: David Marais
Home Town: Midrand
Current 4x4: 1998 4.5 GL Patrol
2006 4.2 Td Bakkie (SWAMBO's) - The "Firetruck"
Home Language: English

Re: NOROC: Strategic Session on the "Way Forward": 2017-01-1

Post by David M »

PathMaker wrote:Hope to see more people attending this event, because like mentioned earlier in this thread, it is the same old, same old and an injection of new faces and ideas is needed.
:eureka: MARKETING, with Nissan backing is going to be key to any future of any Nissan 4x4 Club. We have had clients, driving various Nissan products, that do not even know there are Nissan clubs. Forum ... what forum, they ask me. They thought they were alone in their struggles and questions .... marketing and getting the group's name out there needs to be main priority!
Where are all the other Nissan product drivers? (Navara Club members, Terrano club members, Sani club members, Hardbody members, etc.) We are far shy of 150 people.
Is there going to be anything else on offer at the venue for the family to do ... Family is key! ( :thumbdown: Old boys only club is killing me, that's why I personally don't want to go to venues :sleep: ).
We, as a Patrol club, are strongly bonded and it is great but there seems to be a segmentation and split between the Nissan drivers as a whole. This is the sad truth that we can't seem to get together as Nissan drivers.
David Marais are you going to be there? What about Mark White Nissan representatives?
An interesting observation for me, when I went to Nissan Rosslyn a while ago, I noticed very few Nissan vehicle in the staff parking. There is no brand loyalty.
If, as a staff member, you choose not to drive a Nissan product, then they should be given the "kak" parking spot in the sun at the back of the yard and out of sight. LOL! :lol:
That's my :mytwocents: worth!
See ya all there!!!
Vanessa (... and Graham)
I am not sure if I will be attending as the guy who has bought the Jimny and is based in Ladysmith might be arriving Sat morning. I will know later in the week.

Some very valid points above and is there any finality as to whom from Nissan or their dealerships will be attending? Without them I am not sure of the point of the exercise.

:mytwocents: For me personally I work a minimum of 38 weekends a year so time to attend events is limited and I need to make choices. Join the official NOROC or attend a couple of events organised with the guys from this forum. Join an organisation governed by rules or spend time with a bunch of like minded relaxed guys with no official rules yet everyone behaves themselves. Afraid it is a no brainer.

I hope I am proved wrong but my opinion of Nissan SA and most of the dealerships leaves much to be desired and if I let rip here the moderators would have no choice but to ban me for life.

The one example that takes the cake for me is;

Nicole Horwood who is probably the top showjumper in the country works in my office. She is sponsored by Mark White Nissan and I do not know all the details of the sponsorship but the vehicle is an X Trail. Only problem is the X Trail is not capable of towing the horsebox so she arrives at events with Nissan branding on a horsebox which is towed by a Prado. WTF ............. Vanessa's comments about Head Office just ad fuel to the fire.

When I have time I actually want to change the branding on both vehicles to "Datsun" and "Safari". Once I know what the prices of the badges are I will let you all know.
There are still places out there!!!! - Daniel Goz - The "Tapam" movie
georgeb
Patrolman
Patrolman
Full Name: George Brittnell
Nickname: georgeb
Home Town: Hartbeespoort
Current 4x4: 2004 Patrol 4.8 GRX
Home Language: Afrikaans

Post by georgeb »

Afternoon everybody

The final arrangements for coming Saturday will be communicated on Wednesday 2017-01-11.

Latest list of attendees below:

1. George Brittnell - Patrol - 2 persons
2. Jorrie Jordaan - Patrol -2 persons
3. Alex Roux - 1 person
4. Vaughn Ashford - Hardbody - 3 people
5. Cedric Warner - Patrol - 4 people
6. Rod Crompton - Patrol - 1 person
7. Juan Leslie - Patrol - 1 person
8. Deon Wilmans - Patrol - 1 person
9. Andre Durand - Patrol - 3 persone
10. Dirk de Clerk - Patrol - 1 persoon
11. Alex Botha - Patrol - 2 persons
12. Christo Boegman - Patrol - 1 person
13. Henning - Patrol-2 persons
14. Kobus Pienaar - Patrol or Safari - 1 Person
15. Christo van Rensburg- Patrol - 1 person
16. Ian de Villiers - Patrol - 2 or 4 persons (depending)
17. Pieter Botha - HB - 2 persone
18. Possibly: Danie de Villiers - Patrol - 2 persons
19. Tinus Lotz - Patrol - 1 persoon
20. Michael Montero - Navara - 1 person
21. Carel Vos - Patrol / Safari - 1 person
22. Rob Marussi - Patrol - 1 person
23. Peter Kressig - Patrol - 1 person
24. Tim Klopper - Terrano - 2 persons
25. Billy Klopper - Terrano - 2 persons
26. Brett Mc Enery - Navara - 2 people
27.M Mc Menamin - GU Patrol en Datsun Safari - 2 mense
28. Francois Enslin - Hardbody - 1 persoon
29. Graham Cumming - Patrol - 2 people
30. Noel Jones – Hardbody – 2 people
Groete/Regards,

George Brittnell
Ossewa
Full Name: Dawid Pieterse
Nickname: Dawie
Home Town: Vereeniging
Current 4x4: 1999 Patrol 4.5 GRX
2003 Suzuki 2.5 Vitara

Post by Ossewa »

Dankie George weet nou waar :thumbup:
Ossewa
2003 Suzuki 2.5 Vitara

Post by Ossewa »

Sit my naam ook op want as ek lewe en die gesondheid behou is ek daar. :naughty:
Ossewa
2003 Suzuki 2.5 Vitara

Post by Ossewa »

Sit my naam ook op want as ek lewe en die gesondheid behou is ek daar. :naughty:
georgeb
Patrolman
Patrolman

Post by georgeb »

1. George Brittnell - Patrol - 2 persons
2. Jorrie Jordaan - Patrol -2 persons
3. Alex Roux - 1 person
4. Vaughn Ashford - Hardbody - 3 people
5. Cedric Warner - Patrol - 4 people
6. Rod Crompton - Patrol - 1 person
7. Juan Leslie - Patrol - 1 person
8. Deon Wilmans - Patrol - 1 person
9. Andre Durand - Patrol - 3 persone
10. Dirk de Clerk - Patrol - 1 persoon
11. Alex Botha - Patrol - 2 persons
12. Christo Boegman - Patrol - 1 person
13. Henning - Patrol-2 persons
14. Kobus Pienaar - Patrol or Safari - 1 Person
15. Christo van Rensburg- Patrol - 1 person
16. Ian de Villiers - Patrol - 2 or 4 persons (depending)
17. Pieter Botha - HB - 2 persone
18. Possibly: Danie de Villiers - Patrol - 2 persons
19. Tinus Lotz - Patrol - 1 persoon
20. Michael Montero - Navara - 1 person
21. Carel Vos - Patrol / Safari - 1 person
22. Rob Marussi - Patrol - 1 person
23. Peter Kressig - Patrol - 1 person
24. Tim Klopper - Terrano - 2 persons
25. Billy Klopper - Terrano - 2 persons
26. Brett Mc Enery - Navara - 2 people
27.M Mc Menamin - GU Patrol en Datsun Safari - 2 mense
28. Francois Enslin - Hardbody - 1 persoon
29. Graham Cumming - Patrol - 2 people
30. Noel Jones – Hardbody – 2 people
31. Dawid Pieterse - Patrol - 1 persoon
Groete/Regards,

George Brittnell
georgeb
Patrolman
Patrolman

Post by georgeb »

Môre almal

Die program vir die dag:

08H00 - Komitee onsite
09H00 - Arriveer - Toebroodjies, koffie en tee word bedien - geen koste
09H30 tot 11H00 - Bespreking
11H00 - Tentoonstelling van nuwe Navara

Ons bring en braai en kuier saam so van 12H00 se kant en vertrek daarna - eie ete en drinkgoed - vuur sal daar wees.

No driving on the day.

@Graham C - this gathering does not cater for the family specifically as it is an open forum discussion.

I have attached a questionnaire (thanks to Alex R for this) that will be distributed and used on the day in conjunction with other input received.

See you DV (If the Lord permits) on Saturday.
Attachments
NOROC-Questionnaire-20170114.pdf
Questionaire
(199.58 KiB) Downloaded 221 times
Groete/Regards,

George Brittnell
georgeb
Patrolman
Patrolman

Post by georgeb »

I have received information that the new Patrol will be on display as well.

Note: Please bring a camping chair (we might have to little chairs available) as well as cutlery and crockery for the braai.

Dankie
Groete/Regards,

George Brittnell
Alex Roux
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Alexander Roux
Nickname: Calculator
Home Town: Johannesburg
Current 4x4: 2004 GU 3TDi (Lexus) - aka "Witblits" (sold)
2005: GU TD42 - aka "Masewa"
1996: GQ TB48 conversion - aka "Skilpad"
1993: GQ SWB TB42 - aka "Shortie"
1985: MQ Patrol (Safari) SD33 - aka "Toro"

Post by Alex Roux »

georgeb wrote: I have attached a questionnaire (thanks to Alex R for this) that will be distributed and used on the day in conjunction with other input received.
Just to give some context:

The first set of questions, are basically quoted verbatim fro the current NORC constitution.
I think it is an interesting list of activities and responsibilities to reflect on, i.e. if it speaks to what members feel they would expect and what the committee feel they can deliver on.

I do not want to drive the agenda here, I am just a member, but
It is worth giving this some thought, what you think will make the club work; and work for you, and use this form to provide your feedback in this regard.

If you cannot make it, then perhaps send your form to me by email (aroux2000@mac.com).
I will post a version that can be completed electronically, on this thread, later tonight.
Skilpad, Shortie, Toro & Masewa
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

Iam with you alex nearly everything on that is what i dont want from a group club ect. ...

Return to “29. Events”