Front anti-sway bar QD's

Bullbars, roof racks, suspensions and other accessories relating to vehicle performance
Peter Connan
Full Name: Peter Connan
Nickname: Piet
Home Town: Kempton Park
Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
Home Language: Afrikaans

Front anti-sway bar QD's

Post by Peter Connan »

I have on a number of occassions stated that i believe that removing the sway bars makes no difference to the rollover angle or actual safety of a Patrol unless it is lifted or running heavy loads topsides.

However, there is no doubt that less body roll contributes to a feeling of safety.

I have thus designed a quick-disconnect setup for the front anti-sway bar (i think this limits flex and has more effect than the rear). it will fit Y60 and Y61 models with coil spring front suspensions (thus not the Y60 pickup).

It consists of new chassis brackets and new connecting links (including fhe ball joints).

Cost is R2500.00 and the prototypes can be seen on Alex Roux's car.
IMG-20161105-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20161105-WA0006.jpg (147.44 KiB) Viewed 6389 times
IMG-20161105-WA0007.jpg
IMG-20161105-WA0007.jpg (130.61 KiB) Viewed 6389 times
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
David M
Patrolman
Patrolman
Full Name: David Marais
Nickname: David Marais
Home Town: Midrand
Current 4x4: 1998 4.5 GL Patrol
2006 4.2 Td Bakkie (SWAMBO's) - The "Firetruck"
Home Language: English

Re: Front anti-sway bar QD's

Post by David M »

Put me down for a set. Have always been too scared to permanently disconnect especially as I tow a boat and/or with roofrack on.

3 questions;

1. Do you have a set available that I can fit before the weekend?
2. It is obvious as to how it disconnects at the top but how does it disconnect at the bottom or do you just cable tie it up.
3. Are you going to be making them up for the rear of the Y61 at a later stage? I don't think the Y60 has a swaybar at the back.
There are still places out there!!!! - Daniel Goz - The "Tapam" movie
ricster
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Cedric Warner
Nickname: Cedric
Home Town: Alberton Gauteng
Current 4x4: '99 Nissan Patrol 4.2 Turbo Diesel
Location: LA..... No not Los Angles ..... Lower Alberton, Gauteng

Post by ricster »

Very nice Peter !!! I like it a lot. Have you got for the rear too???
Regards
Cedric
Nissan Patrol GL 4.2 Diesel Turbo (Iron Maiden)
Nissan SANI 3.0 V6 4x4 (SOLD)
Isuzu KB 280 DT 2x4 ('ol Smokey) - SOLD
Suzuki TL 1000R "V twin" (Growler) - SOLD
offroadbiker
Full Name: Dirk de Clerk
Nickname: ORB
Home Town: Krugersdorp
Current 4x4: Patrol GQ 4.2 ST
Home Language: Afrikaans/English

Post by offroadbiker »

What will be the effect on my vehicle that already has some reasonable flex and the fact that it has such a considerable lift? TX
Dirk
1996 Nissan Patrol 4.2 ST
SJC
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: SJC
Nickname: Fanus
Home Town: Nelspruit
Current 4x4: Patrol 4.2 SGL
Home Language: Afrikaans/English

Post by SJC »

Nice.
Altwee my Patrols se voorste sway bars lê in die motorhuis op die oomblik.. (Die 4.5 se agterste een is los gemaak aangesien die een bracket gebreek het).
Indien daar so iets vir die agterste een is sal ek dit oorweeg. Beplan jy miskien een vir agterste sway bars?
‘96 GQ 4.2 SGL
‘01 GU 4.5 GRX
‘08 GU TD42 BAKKIE
Peter Connan

Post by Peter Connan »

Eish, caught with my pants down again.

David, sorry, i only made the one set.

Only the top end disconnects, and you have to tie it up. I am thinking about a bracket of some sort to make cable ties unnecessary, but not quite there yet.

With regard to the rear end, either extending the links or fitting the extension brackets can get a lot of flex without having to disconnect, and prevents the breakages.

Actually the Old Man Emu catalog expressly statez that these must be fitted to prevent breakages.

Look at the pictures of Yamiax's car in the "show your flex" thread. He had extension brackets fitted.

Do yoh guys want to give me some indication of how many front sets i should make up?
David M
Patrolman
Patrolman

Post by David M »

Thanks Piet.

Definetly a set of front for me so lets's start the list.

I have the OME extended brackets at the back but disconnected there is even more available - I have checked - Future project?
David M
Patrolman
Patrolman

Post by David M »

Font anti-sway bar QD's round 1 - Just edit your name in

1. David M
Peter Connan

Post by Peter Connan »

David M wrote:Thanks Piet.

Definetly a set of front for me so lets's start the list.

I have the OME extended brackets at the back but disconnected there is even more available - I have checked - Future project?
Ok.
Alex Roux
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Alexander Roux
Nickname: Calculator
Home Town: Johannesburg
Current 4x4: 2004 GU 3TDi (Lexus) - aka "Witblits" (sold)
2005: GU TD42 - aka "Masewa"
1996: GQ TB48 conversion - aka "Skilpad"
1993: GQ SWB TB42 - aka "Shortie"
1985: MQ Patrol (Safari) SD33 - aka "Toro"

Post by Alex Roux »

David M wrote:Put me down for a set. Have always been too scared to permanently disconnect especially as I tow a boat and/or with roofrack on.

3 questions;

1. Do you have a set available that I can fit before the weekend?
2. It is obvious as to how it disconnects at the top but how does it disconnect at the bottom or do you just cable tie it up.
3. Are you going to be making them up for the rear of the Y61 at a later stage? I don't think the Y60 has a swaybar at the back.

Hi David

You will notice that there is a re-usable cable tie in the picture above, that I will intend to use when disconnecting at the top.
I have a 2" susp lift and 2" body lift, plus a steel roof rack.
This caused considerable body roll, which I just did not like. As okay as Peter said it should be.
Putting this on made a helluva difference in my car's handling.

With regard to the rear:
I do not have the rear back on at the moment.
I snapped it off some years back at Berakka. I did not notice the handling impact at the time though.
So the experience of body roll around a corner is definitely a lot less or unoticable for the rear stabiliser.
I am still waiting for a new old one from Dawid. For that I intend to only get the connecting rods extended to accommodate the lift, rather than the disconnecting functionality.
Skilpad, Shortie, Toro & Masewa

Return to “18. Vehicle Accessories”