Full Name: Ian de Villiers
Nickname: Ian
Home Town: Garsfontein
Current 4x4: Nissan Patrol 4.5 GRX
Home Language: English

Re: A Sad Day Indeed!!!

Post by iandvl »

Alex Roux wrote: ...
Cedric, why so fanatic about this diesel thing?
Besides consumption, which in my case is a margnal thing, and different rev ranges, what else would make you so very very excited? You still don't make 200kw, even with Michael's or Tour de Frans's magic?
Alex - it's all the black smoke. It has gone to his head.... :rolling: :rolling: :rolling:
Ian de Villiers

Patrol 4.5 GRX
Jurgens XT65 2x0 with Super Select Zero
ORRA: H80
Michael
Full Name: Michael
Nickname: Steyn
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Patrol GU 4.2 Turbo Diesel
Home Language: Afrikaans

Re: Tinus se 4.2TD bakkie!!

Post by Michael »

bogeyman wrote:Jislaaik. Those pictures should be used as evidence to put the previous owner in jail.

It will also encourage us to use the correct fluids and technical procedures when servicing our engines.

The fact that this thing still worked shows that old school is Africa proof.

Eish.
Christo, yes I agree with you 100% :thumbup: Maintaining your engine properly is the best investment you can ever make.

These engines really can still run where other engines would have died long ago. It really amazes me how this engine was still able to start and drive! The compression must have been very very low and the astonishing is that it did not even sound that bad.....
"The Just shall live by Faith" Rom1:17

Check out my build here My Patrol
And my engine rebuild here mostly engine related stuff
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

I must say i love the sound of a straight six diesel and its gonna work and keep on working ....
The bakkie belonged to a drilling company as me and mr Boegman work with them a lot they are rough on many levels .....i knew what I was getting myself into when i bought it ....hence the price compared to other opsions
Michael

Re: A Sad Day Indeed!!!

Post by Michael »

Alex Roux wrote:
ricster wrote:I agree Kobus .... put that 4.2 back in.... with turbo..... DIESEL POWER FOREVER !!!......hahahahahaha
Cedric, why so fanatic about this diesel thing?
Besides consumption, which in my case is a margnal thing, and different rev ranges, what else would make you so very very excited? You still don't make 200kw, even with Michael's or Tour de Frans's magic

En Tinus, hoekom is die enjin so verniel? Was dit 'n mynbakkie?
Wat is jou planne met hom, gaan dit 'n werksbakkie word?
Yes Cedric tell us!! :biggrin:

Well Alex, just to tell you why I love the diesels is pretty simple. I love the sound of a 6cyl diesel engine...... it just puts a smile on my face when I drive my Patrol.
Secondly its not about chasing 200kw or big numbers, but it is about the torque it makes and how the TD42 is more efficient when you start working them. Worst consumption I ever got was 6km/l when touring through Namibia (4.5 ton including the trailer I towed)
Also the low end torque is very good on the TD42, I can do obstacles without even touching the accelerator.
These engine really can run even when they are in very poor condition.
Lastly, its just personal preference for me....Im a diesel man and thats the main reason.

iandvl
Patrolman 1000+

Post by iandvl »

I have to apologise here. I take my diesel-bashing-lead from other Ian...

I guess one can say that jealousy makes one nasty. I love my 4.5 to bits, but I'm also a closet diesel lover... I think, at some point, I will trade my Hardbody in for a 4.2 Pickup... :biggrin:

Michael, on a more serious note - and bearing in mind that I know nothing about the way these work - how does one pull the motor ? Does one pull it from underneath the vehicle ? Or out through the bonnet ? I'm just curious.
Ian de Villiers

Patrol 4.5 GRX
Michael

Post by Michael »

Ian, the engine comes out quite easy actually. Once the radiator is out there is enough space in front of the engine to move it forward and then lift it up from the top.

iandvl
Patrolman 1000+

Post by iandvl »

Michael wrote:Ian, the engine comes out quite easy actually. Once the radiator is out there is enough space in front of the engine to move it forward and then lift it up from the top.
Do you have any photographs of this ? I'd love to see it.

I also assume you need a very beefy engine hoist. That motor must be a few hundred kg's...
Last edited by iandvl on 22 Jan 2016 10:37, edited 1 time in total.
Ian de Villiers

Patrol 4.5 GRX
Alex Roux
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Alexander Roux
Nickname: Calculator
Home Town: Johannesburg
Current 4x4: 2004 GU 3TDi (Lexus) - aka "Witblits" (sold)
2005: GU TD42 - aka "Masewa"
1996: GQ TB48 conversion - aka "Skilpad"
1993: GQ SWB TB42 - aka "Shortie"
1985: MQ Patrol (Safari) SD33 - aka "Toro"

Post by Alex Roux »

iandvl wrote:I have to apologise here. I take my diesel-bashing-lead from other Ian...
I am not a diesel basher either. I guess there is nothing I need to compensate for!
And I still think that the 4.2 non-aspirated is one of the all time great overlanders.
But as far as preference goes, my V8 sounds pretty awesome too (beauty is in the ear of the beholder).
Skilpad, Shortie, Toro & Masewa
Michael

Post by Michael »

I actually do have a picture, this was when I installed my new engine.

this is not really a heavy duty cherry picker and it works well with this heavy engine
Attachments
engine_16-2200.jpg
engine_16-2200.jpg (227.33 KiB) Viewed 2829 times

Return to “08a. Your Patrol”