Overlanding: Namibia + Botswana - Final Route

Get the information about routes, trips or just get plain inspiration
Russ Kellermann
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Russell Kellermann
Nickname: Russell Kellermann
Home Town: Cape Town now, grew up on the Wild Coast.
Current 4x4: 2007 Patrol 4.2D Pickup
2005 Patrol 4.2TD Wagon
Home Language: English

Re: Overlanding: CT - Nam - Bots - CT - UPDATED

Post by Russ Kellermann »

Thanks Pete.

Appreciate the time it took you to delve into such detail. Are you saying then that i should rather stick to the main route (ie: Fuel options along the way)?

Its always fun taking the road less travelled, but obviously as you mention, i must consider time saved and things like fuel etc as well.
'07 Patrol Pickup TD42 N/A,285's KM2,3" Lift,ONCA Bars,Warn High Mount,Alu Canopy, and some other Stuff.
Peter Connan
Full Name: Peter Connan
Nickname: Piet
Home Town: Kempton Park
Current 4x4: 1996 Patrol 4.5SGL
Home Language: Afrikaans

Post by Peter Connan »

Russ, i guess it's a matter of how much time and feul you have. I know your bakkie has a massive range, but i don't know what your folks are driving.

There are a number of filling stations in Katima and a couple in Nata, and that's not too far apart.

Just make sure you have enough to get you back to civilization if the road is blocked?
Mag ons ons kenniskry met lekkerkry aanhoukry.
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

200liter at 8km per liter goes a long way..... :blonde:
Peter Connan

Post by Peter Connan »

Tinus lotz wrote:200liter at 8km per liter goes a long way..... :blonde:
Russ, for dirt sections work put range with a consumption of about 6km/l max. Most of it will be very sandy!
Tinus lotz
Full Name: Tinus lotz
Nickname: Tinus lotz
Home Town: Centurion
Current 4x4: Nissan patrol 4.8 GRX 2005

Toyota 2.7 legend 35 LWB 4X4

Post by Tinus lotz »

Peter Connan wrote:
Tinus lotz wrote:200liter at 8km per liter goes a long way..... :blonde:
Russ, for dirt sections work put range with a consumption of about 6km/l max. Most of it will be very sandy!
I agree just trying to be funny :blonde:
Russ Kellermann
Patrolman 1000+
2005 Patrol 4.2TD Wagon

:lol:

I 'm a cautious person, so will always overestimate fuel usage to a "worst case scenario" .

My vehicle has 175 Litre's in total (not that massive really)... and i would calculate worst case figures at around 5.5km/l just to be safe (even in Low range 1st working hard at altitude) wont be worse than that ever.... has never been that low ever. :thumbup:

Folks have a Toyota D4D 2.5D 4x4 DC. - Dad gets between 12km and 14km/L - its an extremely efficient motor (granted, once it has a load its gonna kak a bit), but even then reporting figures of no less than 10km/l. at a 80Lt tank (i think), he's got range as well.

Would be lovely to take that track you detailed in your previous post pete... i will investigate and log it as a possible.

Thanks for all the comments so far chaps, you okes rock.

Any other suggestions send them this way, doesnt matter how small. even if it has to do with camp tricks and bits and bobs that made your life easier in those PARTICULAR conditions (for nam / Bots).

Cheers.

Ps: Still trying to get Tara Lee Goosen to book my last part of the trip - everything from Nata onwards basically, but seems to be taking forever to correspond with her... frustrating and worrying (even though it will be out of school holidays, i still worry about camp space at these singular remote camp sites).

Russ.
'07 Patrol Pickup TD42 N/A,285's KM2,3" Lift,ONCA Bars,Warn High Mount,Alu Canopy, and some other Stuff.
Peter Connan

Post by Peter Connan »

Russ, for either CKGR or KTP/Mabua, just phone DWNP direct. But you must phone and follow up with e-mail, they won't respond to just e-mails.

Once you get hold of them on the phone they are reasonably efficient and knowledgeable.

Make sure you have some sort of wind-break for Mabua, and lots of blankets. It gets cold and windy at night (for us vaalies anyway).
Alex Roux
Patrolman 1000+
Full Name: Alexander Roux
Nickname: Calculator
Home Town: Johannesburg
Current 4x4: 2004 GU 3TDi (Lexus) - aka "Witblits" (sold)
2005: GU TD42 - aka "Masewa"
1996: GQ TB48 conversion - aka "Skilpad"
1993: GQ SWB TB42 - aka "Shortie"
1985: MQ Patrol (Safari) SD33 - aka "Toro"

Post by Alex Roux »

Russ

There is a chap on the community forum called Ubbo (http://4x4community.co.za/forum/member.php?u=16566)
He has done a fair amount of overland trips in Southern Africa and has offered his services to people to help plan and arrange their trips.
At the moment he is not charging for it. He simply likes doing it, and now being retired, has the tie to do it for others too.

He might know a few tricks to bedding down confirmations for accommodation.
Skilpad, Shortie, Toro & Masewa
Russ Kellermann
Patrolman 1000+
2005 Patrol 4.2TD Wagon

i actually saw that thread a few weeks ago, i thought it was a really nice gesture from the guy.

Tara got back to me with a few possible dates , but alot of locations fully booked, however, she's asked for a few days to " work on it" , ... so i'll wait to hear.

In the mean time i'll try petes suggestion, perhaps they reserve a site or two for whatever reasons... will see.
gupster
Full Name: Barry Guppy
Nickname: Baz
Home Town: Hibberdene
Current 4x4: 2001 Nissan Patrol 3.0 GRX
2005 Nissan Patrol 3.0 GR

Post by gupster »

Hi Russ.

If you are thinking of crossing the Kgalagadi into SA at Nossob, you can take the Boso trail solo but not the one above it. Its very thick sand but not a problem. There is fuel in Nossob.

From Kubu to Deception is about 300 ks and its quite easy to get from Deception to Xade in 1 day. I have not travelled from Xade to the S. gate so cannot comment but did once plan a trip and it seemed it only required an 2 extra days. That might still allow enough time to travel through the Kgalagadi and back home.
Have Troll, will travel.

Return to “25. Trip/Route Queries”