Full Name: Chris van Selm
Nickname: Chris
Home Town: Malkerns. Swaziland
Current 4x4: PATROL 4800 GRX 2004
Home Language: English/Afrikaans

PATROL SERVICING 178,000 KM

Post by Dr Chris »

Hi All,
As a semi-retired professional, I am NOT mechanically trained, and on all our trips I have had to rely on the incredible help from others who are, and always will be very valuable friends to have around!
My vehicle is a 2004 Patrol GRX with all the necessary requirements (Engel on a duel system, spots, stainless steel exhaust, etc.) 275 x 16 x 75 Bridgestones in very good health, and for enjoying travelling to the neighbouring countries we have enjoyed until now. I live in Forest Hills outside of Hillcrest in KZN.
I also have a boat (Baronet 21ft) for Kozi, Jozini, and the smaller dams closer to home (Inanda, Albert Falls, Midmar etc.) and we pull an old Wilk caravan (beautiful condition) in between boating and fishing trips. I do about 10,000 km a year only.
I must admit to not really having problems with the Nissan dealers in the past, and been lucky enough to enjoy little in the way of costs to date. (amazing vehicles all round, that just do not break down!). To some extent this has been controlled by own basic servicing (every 10,000 km, and I do not use any oil at all), but I now have to move into a higher grade of understanding of where to go from here? To comprehend this into the future, I really need some valuable guidelines - hence my point of writing to you?
1. What sort of action plan do we have to put into place? How to find suitable independants, and what to look for?
2. Do I need to comprehensively assess the whole drive train, engine, gearbox etc. etc., and where do we start?
3. Who do we trust?
4. What materials/lubricants etc., The Disc brakes were done 18 months ago, but what about auto gearbox oil changes (expensive!!?) diff,
etc.